Listen. What’s that? It’s the sound of silence. Our phones have stopped ringing with those annoying calls from political wannabes.

Most everyone I have talked to said they hung up immediately. That is what I did as well.

When they annoy people like that, how can they ever expect to get their vote?

I had calls from Pat Boone and Barbara Bush endorsing a candidate recently. As if I cared who they’d vote for. I would not have been surprised if Ronald Reagan’s voice from the grave was a call I received.

I am on a “do not call” list, but that does not stop these calls.

While we are on the subject of telephones, I’ll mention another annoying occurrence about phones. And that is the long list of options when you attempt to reach someone, be it in the medical profession or business places that are too busy to take your call.

I just got off the phone trying to renew a prescription. I gave up and went to the store.

It brought to mind a TV interview I saw with the late, noted anthropologist Margaret Mead years ago.

The subject was the population explosion. A caller disputed her claim about there being a problem, saying there is plenty of available land on which people can reside.

Mead’s view was more about the breakdown in services, predicting exactly what has happened. Machines will replace humans in many instances.

“Partly personal,” as Paul Harvey used to say. Not long ago I was being fitted for a bra. As I waited in the fitting room, the sales clerk kept running back and forth, leaving me shivering in the small cubicle.

She apologized, saying she was on the phone with another customer.

I took note, and the next time I needed a bra, I called to inquire whether they had a certain one in stock. The person on the phone told me, “I’m sorry but I’m with a customer right now, you’ll have to hold the line.” I can’t win.

I am not a violent person, but the next time I dial a number and I am told which number to punch, I will be ready to punch “someone” instead of a number.

 

