Each month of the year has a fourth day. But no other has the special significance of the Fourth of July.

When I was a little girl, we did not have a fireworks display as we do in modern times. The best we could come up with then was a sparkler. I could hardly wait until dark and then run around outside our house waving the lighted sparkler in the air. It burned ever so brightly but for such a short time.

My brothers were allowed to play with firecrackers, and they managed to do so safely and grew up with all their digits intact. A favorite antic was to put a lighted firecracker under an empty soup can and watch it skyrocket into the air. What fun!

We learned about the Declaration of Independence in grade school. Thomas Jefferson and John Adams were key figures in writing the document, with Jefferson being known as the “pen” and Adams, the “voice.”

Having waded through the biography of Adams by David McCullough, I am even more fascinated than ever with the brilliant minds that wrote the document, as well as the Constitution of our nation. What forward-thinking men the Founding Fathers were! Both Adams and Thomas Jefferson died within hours of each other on July 4, 1825.

I have been a history buff most of my adult life. I am so proud of what our forefathers did for us so we are able to enjoy the freedoms we now have. I don’t mind admitting to wearing my patriotism on my sleeve. I love my country.

They say a politician thinks of his next election, but a statesman thinks of the future of his country. In my book, that makes Adams and Jefferson true statesmen.

