During this Arctic deep freeze, I got to thinking about the
bears hibernating in winter.  Please note: not the capital letter Bears but
the ones who are smart enough to hibernate.  Come to think of it, the
capital letter ones did seem to hibernate rather early too, didn’t they?
    The small letter bears certainly have the right idea on how to cope with
the cold.  How come we of the human variety have not come up with a way of
dealing with the cold?
            A friend in Arizona often mentions walking outdoors even when
the temperature drops into the ’60’s.  She said that the “snowbirds,” who
arrive yearly, laugh at the locals for their choice in donning scarves, hats
and mittens when they walk durinig this “cold” spell.
    You would think we humans could have come up with a pill that would put
us to sleep for, say, three months – January through March.  Or — for the
more hardy — at least for the month of January.
            Some of our “feathered” birds do not migrate and remain here and
don’t seem to mind it at all.  You don’t see them swinging their wings back
and forth like we human flap our arms to get warm or blowing on the tips of
them.
            Once Christmas was over, I’d see in the New Year and then take a
pill that could assure me of slumber until May 1.  Imagine emerging and
finding the world full of flowers.  No March winds or April showers.  There
is a saying that goes “you have to take the rain to appreciate the
sunshine.”  I’d just as soon have someone tell me about the windy and rainy
months without having to put up with them.
            No more tire-damaging potholes, slushy parking lots piled high
with snowbanks doing away with  precious few parking spots, frozen fingers.
Who needs that?
            Then I reconsider when I remember the mode of attire in the
summer.  All those flip flops for shoes, navels peeking out from under
too-short tops, hairy legs on shorts-clad citizens.  In winter we do not
have to look at ugly exposed body parts of fellow citizens.
            Maybe a mild thaw will change my mind.  But I’m not sure.  I am
not tossing out my parka, gloves and boots just yet.  But I am tempted.  One
more forecast of lake effect snow, or sub-zero temperatures and I’m taking
the pill as soon as it’s available.

