I’m a big fan of personal computers and enjoy mine with its access to the Internet and the ability to keep in touch with distant friends via e-mail, but my first love was always paper.

          A clean, white 8-1/2 X 11 inch sheet of paper begged me to fill it with words. 

          I was content with my Smith Corona typewriter.  I’d roll a sheet of paper into it and think of the possibilities before me to write something, anything.  Not great literature, I know, as I am not that gifted. 

          A personal letter to someone, my thoughts on current events, memories from my childhood, etc., was the usual result. 

After marriage, I worked a few years and then took time out to raise a daughter and son.  I was pretty much in the dark what was going on in the world of technology while I dealt with domestic chores.

When I resumed my secretarial career, I was fascinated by the changes in technology that had transpired during my absence.

          I loved learning about all the new gadgets that were now part of office equipment.  Copiers that collated and stapled the results had replaced the old mimeograph and Ditto machines (the one with the purple ink that stained your fingers and clothes). Imagine that!

          Instead of wand keys on typewriters that used to jam up if we typed too quickly, there was that little ball on a Selectric typewriter spinning around, typing letters on paper…but that was soon replaced with personal computers.

          Earlier, direct long distance dialing was only done by a long distance telephone operator.  I remember placing a call for my boss to Seattle and he was amazed at how quickly we had a connection.  If he were alive today, I wonder what he’d think.

          A Girl Friday, (secretary) became an Administrative Assistant.  We still performed the same duties but with more gusto with that high-fallutin’ title.

We’ve come a long ways but we aren’t there yet. 

There was talk about a paperless world but it seems like more paper than ever can be found.

          These are only a few of the changes and these new developments came into being in the last fifty+ years.  How I loved being a part of it all.  I’m sorry I won’t be here to see what the next fifty years will bring. 

          But a sheet of paper still appeals to me.

 

