Lexophile is a word used to describe those that have a love for words. That would describe me.

All the words in italics in this piece are from the August 2014 edition of Readers Digest page, “It pays to increase your word power.” I thought it would be fun to use them all in one piece. What follows is not apocryphal (doubtful authenticity).

In an attempt to teach our son and daughter new words, I used to clip it out and post it on the refrigerator when they still lived at home.

While in grade school my son told me the teacher once asked if anyone knew what the word “entrepreneur” meant. He was the only one who knew.

Without words, where would we be? Misunderstandings and hurt feelings can be avoided with communication. Words can hurt or glorify a person and give them a feeling of self worth or be deriding.

Cavemen expressed their feelings by carving or painting images on walls and ever since man has attempted to relate to fellow human beings with words and gestures.

The reader may consider this a study in futility and scoff at my attempt to do this but I forge ahead.

I am beginning this piece tentatively because it is indubitably a precarious undertaking.

There may be conjecture that I am trying to be a pseudo-intellectual. That, however, would be a spurious judgment. The Readers Digest gives spurious the definition as false or deceitful as in the case of Tom Sawyer playing hooky using a spurious note from the doctor. I am not being deceitful at any rate.

My intuition is that my true friends will surmise this.

It may be a nebulous decision at best, but I love the challenge.

Any allegations that I am a bona fide author, would be untrue. I am merely an amateur writer who dabbles in writing letters to the editor to our local newspapers. I rarely expound on serious subjects.

Neither do I waffle when I speak privately to friends. There may be some who say my remarks may be thought of as equivocal but that would be only their opinion.

If anyone wishes to corroborate that I have used all the fifteen words (in italics) on this page, see the August 2014 issue of the Readers Digest, pages 149-150.

Thanks for allowing me this bit of whimsy.

