I have reached an age where I am not expected to prepare the traditional feast on Thanksgiving Day. As a bride though, I remember the first time I did it with much fear and trepidation. I had a hard act to follow as my own mother and mother-in-law did it with such ease.
Knowing the safest way to thaw a frozen bird was always a problem and managing to pry the heart, gizzard and neck out of the carcass in order to cook them and add them to the dressing always gave me fits too.
I wondered how mothers were able to get everything ready at the same time. But we learn by doing.
One advantage they had was that there was no football or television. I have heard of mothers complaining they had to time serving the meal to coincide with halftime only to see the family gobble up in ten minutes what took hours to prepare. Pumpkin pie waited for them at the end of the game.
Years ago Thanksgiving conjured up a vision for me of a Norman Rockwell painting. Mom is shown entering the dining room, carrying a platter, containing a perfectly roasted turkey, ready for the man of the house to carve. The happy family is seated at the table with grins on their upturned faces awaiting a drumstick, wing or other favorite piece.
Now, like as not, my vision is of crowded airports as passengers await their flights or possible delays and even cancellation as they head “home for the holidays.”
Gone is the memory of “over the river and through the woods,” as we sang in my youth.
If you have an old-fashioned mother, be thankful as you arrive home and are met with the wonderful aroma of the various dishes being prepared.
The world is in turmoil but there is still much to be thankful for on this yearly holiday. No matter how bleak things seem to be at times, one can always find something positive if we just look for it.
I love this anecdote. A little girl having had her first turkey dinner was asked how she liked it. She said “I didn’t like the turkey too much but I loved the bread it ate.”
Happy Thanksgiving.

