Reading Alvin Toffler’s book, “Future Shock,” circa 1970, I found some of the facts the author brought up were pretty mind-boggling and hard to believe they would actually occur.  The author suggested that we would become a “Throw-away Society.”

One only has to look at today’s trash barrels and see that he was correct as you view the styrofoam containers that once held take-away food items from restaurants and fast food drive-ins.  Use-it and-lose-it is the by-word these days.  When will we reach saturation at our garbage dumps when non-bio-degradable  items do not decompose or rot away?

Remember when milk came in re-usable glass bottles?  I know that some milk still does but it’s not the norm now.

The disposal of “things,” is also true of homes.  Is your parental home still in existence or has it been razed to make way for newer homes or road construction?

Historical buildings become too expensive to maintain and convert into useful museums or other uses.  No room for sentiment when progress rears its ugly head.

I also read years ago that hospitals were experimenting with paper gowns for doctors and nurses as well as bed linens for patients rather than cloth necessitating laundering and sterilization.    This, evidently was not practical because I don’t think it happened.

Toffler cited a boutique that featured a paper wedding gown.   After the honeymoon, the bride could make lace curtains out of what she wore down the church aisle.  I don’t think so.

I decry the disappearance of one particular paper product.  That is the personal hand written or typed letter that has been replaced with electronic mail. (Even though I am an e-mail addict.)

Thumbing through my high school year book, I enjoyed reading the sentiments expressed by my classmates as we bid adieu in our senior year.  (No, it was not a stone tablet or written on parchment.)   It was, however, pre-computer age and electronic wizardry.  I’m happy it pre-dated our “disposable age.”

Otherwise, another piece of Americana would be gone and I would not remember the boy who sat behind me in History class and constantly kicked my seat!

Every time you gain something, you lose something.  When the gain becomes less than the loss, will we revert back to the old ways?  I hope so.  At least in some instances.

