Now that the hoopla and fireworks are over, I did a bit of quiet reflection about our country.

In my mellow years, I am even more patriotic than ever.

I can’t sing “God Bless America” without a giant lump the size of a grapefruit in my throat.

It is hard to believe that the rebels (as they were called) could have succeeded against the mighty British Army. All the statistics were against their success and yet we just celebrated our independence once again.

The late President Ronald Reagan is credited with returning patriotism to the heart of America.

The snobs in the media at times referred to him as a lovable dunce. How dare they? It’s because of our freedom of speech that they could do so without fear of reprisal.

Loyalty to country had gone out of style for a time, but I believe it is returning. Personally, years ago during coffee breaks, I was once chided for my loyalty to the corporation where I worked. These were usually gripe sessions. I’d chime in with something positive like being loyal to a firm that was providing us a means to earn a living. A young secretary said to me, “It’s too bad we don’t have a company flag. Then you could pin it on your back and march around the office to show your stupid loyalty.”

Isn’t that pretty much the way it is today, when people find fault with everything? They live in the best country in the world and yet complain?

I agree that for a peace-loving nation, there was and is a lot of bloodshed. If each of us try to change that, it might be a better world if we live up to the message in the hymn, Let there be peace on earth, let it begin with me.  If you don’t know the words, you can look it on the Internet. It has a wonderful message.

They say immigration is the sincerest form of flattery. What other country has so many people trying to become citizens as ours?

I am so fortunate and blessed to be born in this country.

God Bless America.

