If you think the political campaigns begin earlier each year, you will find a lot of people agreeing with you.  Reading a book by the late David Brinkley, I find that he wrote on this subject back on February 6, 1983.  So early campaigning is not that new.

It’s hard to imagine for a non-political person (as I am) that anyone could stand the grueling months ahead, making all those boring speeches, shaking hands, etc. Do they still kiss babies too?  I doubt it in this modern world of germs-conscientiousness, hand sanitizers, etc.

If any of the candidates are like the late billionaire, Howard Hughes who refused to shake hands, what will they do to ward off germs  —  especially during the cold and flu season?  I guess that shows a rather petty view on my part.  They have their eyes on loftier goals.

Telephone calls from politicians have already intruded during my afternoon siestas, mailbox is stuffed with literature, and television and radio ads cause me to reach for the mute button.

I think of all the worthwhile things on which campaign funds could be spent.

In a biography of Will Rogers, “Reflections and Observations,” I read about a Michigan man running for Congress in 1922, spending $195,000 on his campaign.

Today they probably spend that much in a day!  Congress collectively criticized him for doing so.

Though he was allowed to be seated, there was still so much public outrage ten months later, he resigned.

(I don’t know how true this is.  As Will Rogers always said, “I only know what I read in the newspaper,” I can only say I only know what I read in books and leave it to publishers to verify facts.)

Who will remember all the promises made so far ahead of when we go to the polls in November next year?

In order to vote intelligently, we should be informed but the brain’s capacity is finite. We will be subjected to so much verbiage before the election.  It will be difficult to absorb so much information.  The brain can only retain so much.

The following quote is not original but I read it some time ago. “An excess of information resists analysis and comprehension in much the same way a lack of it does.”

