Try as I may, I’ll never get used to this modern age.  Best I have been able to do is learn a fraction of what is necessary to use my computer, send and receive emails, learn how to view what’s on Netflix.

The elevator still puzzles me, but I know enough to press the right button to reach the floor I want, but what makes that box move up and down is unknown to me.

I was recently in a time warp while shopping with my daughter in one of our local supermarkets. Waiting, I watched her use the self-checkout aisle.

The beeping, as purchases were scanned, made me wonder how many transactions are accomplished without cash exchanging hands these days. I suppose some people still use legal tender, but I have not seen many lately.

What would my Mom think if she could suddenly spring to life and enter one of these supermarkets now?

The bar code mystifies me no end. Is there a limit to the way those bars can be arranged? My daughter showed me an emblem on an item that is another way to identify it.  How does that work? Who had the moxie to invent it?

Another mystery was revealed when we returned to her car.  She doesn’t have to use a key, as long as she has it with her. She just pressed a button on the door and it unlocked. Imagine that!

Inside there is a perfect view on a screen on the dashboard that indicates if there is a car or pedestrian behind us.

As we were leaving the store, I saw a little girl accompanied by her father, having a wonderful time playing with the buttons on an ATM machine.  I thought, ”Have fun, little one, heaven only knows what there will be when you are old enough to know what it’s for.”

What sort of world will it be when she is my age?

I told her father, “she is certainly starting early learning about automation, and I know she had no idea what she was doing.”

I have to admit, I don’t understand what is happening either, just as she knows not.

The difference being that I know I don’t know.

