It’s traditional that we take time out on this holiday to be thankful for all of life’s bounty that has been bestowed upon us.

Space does not permit me to list all the things I am thankful for that I don’t have, like terminal illness for one.

During the recent snowfall, I was thankful I did not have to battle my way to work as I so often did years ago.  I was also thankful that my son and daughter were not in the increasing snowfall.

There are also many intangible things for which we can be grateful.

One of those that I treasure outside of family is the friendships I enjoyed in the past and now making new friends.

An old example comes to mind.  If you can buy a friend for a dollar, keep the dollar.  If you can sell a friend for a million dollars, keep the friend.

I am thankful I do not have to battle crowds in malls to do my Christmas shopping, thanks to online shopping.  I am thankful I don’t have to wait in long lines at the checkout counter.

I am thankful (though I may forget something now and then) it’s not serious, but just a “senior moment.”

I gave up my driving privilege some years ago and I am thankful I no longer am at the mercy of someone saying yes I may obtain another license nor do I have the expense of buying a license or city sticker, to say nothing of the expense of buying gas, repairs, parking fees, etc.

I am thankful I don’t live in a mansion that requires outside help to maintain.

I am thankful I don’t crave the bright city lights.  The only bright light I need is when I read.

I am thankful I do not have fame and fortune and all that it entails.

I am thankful I no longer worry what people think of me. I know they seldom do.  People are too preoccupied with their own lives.

I am thankful I don’t have to concern myself about being a good parent.  That ship sailed years go and I have two useful citizens in my grown son and daughter.

I am thankful I don’t live somewhere else and call the United States my home.  God bless America.

