Some people have poo-poo’d my theory that the moon has anything to do with our inability to sleep. It has been suggested that worry or pain, and too much caffeine may result in sleep deprivation.

We can all check our sleep patterns and see if there is any validity to what I believe about the subject during our next full moon, on Saturday.

I wonder what early man must have thought about that huge orb when it went through its various phases.

We have so much information available to us and yet it’s still a fascinating and mysterious subject.

Some planets have more than one moon (as we do here on earth).

Since July 1969 when man first walked on the moon, we have learned a lot more than we used to know when I went to school.

I learned from my research we have an internal clock that synchronizes with the moon and may be driven by lunar cycles. So it’s not my imagination that I don’t sleep well then.

I do not bay at the moon like a werewolf, but I feel restless during a full moon.  My son says his dog is often restless then also. Do farmers notice this with cattle?

A nurse, working in a maternity ward, told me that there are more births during a full moon than any other time.  The moon affects the tides, why not the water encased baby in the womb?

Thirty-three healthy volunteers, between ages 20 and 74, sleeping under strictly controlled conditions in a window-less laboratory were studied in Switzerland for 3-1/2 days.   They had no way of seeing the moon. It was found there was a 20-minute reduction of total sleep time.

Another interesting result of the study was people sleeping in the lab nearer to the day of a full moon also had lower evening levels of the hormone, melatonin.  This is important to circadian rhythm and drives the body’s cycles of day and night, thus it affects wakefulness and sleep.

As for me, I’’m taking a pain pill, drink no coffee at dinner, and plan not to worry and see how I sleep May 21, during this full moon.

I will … hope for the best.

 

