When I was a young pre-school age girl, I used to accompany my father on his errands around our small town. Whenever we met people they’d ask how old I was and when I’d start school.

My doting father would say,  “Oh, she’s already so smart.  She won’t have to go.”

In my naiveté I believed him until that first fateful day when he walked me to school.  I cried all the way, reminding him of what he always said.

He explained how wonderful it would be to learn to read and get an education.

Learning to read was thrilling for me, even though I didn’t comprehend everything I read.    I may have sounded intelligent as I repeated what I’d read, without really knowing.  A talent to remember is a good thing.  But does not necessarily denote intelligence.

My dictionary defines knowledge as “The state or fact of knowing.”  And wisdom is “An understanding of what is true, right, or lasting.”

Knowledge is fleeting.  Wisdom lingers.

You may know it would not be smart to jump from a plane at high altitude without a parachute.  But wisdom keeps you from doing it.

An instructor once told us, we can’t know everything…but knowing where to seek answers is the first step to wisdom.

We have much data in books, the Internet, Television, etc.  But do we have more wisdom than our forefathers?

Old age does not necessarily endow us with wisdom and good judgment, much as we’d like to think it does.  We seniors sometimes feel we know better in all things.

A by-word of the elderly is, “We never used to do it that way.”  This indicates a reluctance to change anything.  I give you the saying,

“The definition of insanity is trying the same thing over and over again and expecting a different result.”

War is a good example of insanity.

It is good to take away only what is important from any experience.

Mark Twain observed we should get out of an experience only the wisdom that’s in it.  A cat may sit on a hot stove lid once and know not to do it again.  But it also will not sit on a lot of cold ones in the future either.

A final thought:

My late husband said “It’s what we learn after we think we know it all that counts.”

